Beside the Alamo, enchantment strange as the blue up above

Just learned that we’re a selection of SAFILM,  the 17th Annual San Antonio Film Festival. It takes place in beautiful San Antonio, of course, from June 16 – 26, 2011.

“Hollywood Forever” will screen in the Orozco Gallery of the Instituto Cultural de Mexico at HemisFair Park on June 22. The 11-day cinema event will celebrate 172 independent short and feature length films from around the globe, selected from hundreds of submissions.

I love San Antonio. In 1996, I directed my stage adaptation of Sandra Cisneros’ novel “The House on Mango Street” at Jump-Start Performance Company there. With a wonderful cast and company, we put on a wholehearted, exuberant, satisfying production. Plus I rode my bike in the Wildflower 100, got a medal from El Rey during Fiesta, and swirled my circle skirt at Conjunto Fest.

I’m honored to be included in this fine event in a city I enjoy so much. Wish I could make this screening. If you do. please let me know.

This entry was posted in film festivals, Jump-Start Performance Company, short film. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment